Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | November 15, 2007

Burnt coffee – make it tolerable

This afternoon I snuck up on the office coffee pot hoping to get a final cup before the pot was shut down for the day. I was still several feet away from that three-burner alter of Java when my nose told me that I was in big trouble. That last little bit of coffee was obviously burnt worse than a well-done steak from Ponderosa. When I finally poured my cup (emptying the pot to the last drop), and took a sample taste, I wondered whether I might be far better off to dump it and just go for a drink of water.

It was then that my well-refined Hollander instincts kicked in. “Why, I think I can make this work,” I said. “No sense having it go to waste.” So I reached for the creamer and creamed the devil out of my mug of mud! The cream made the joe somewhat tolerable, and I want you to know that I drank to the bitter bottom of the cup.

We’ve all heard the expression “making lemonade out of lemons” when faced with a bad situation. Maybe “creaming up the bad coffee” is a better expression for us die-hard coffee freaks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

