Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | December 29, 2007

A Child’s Perspective

I heard a story this evening about a young boy who was having a conversation with his grandfather. At one point, the boy exclaimed, “I’m so excited about tomorrow.” To which his grandfather asked, “Why, what’s going to happen tomorrow?” The young child then replied excitedly, “I don’t know!”

Somehow as we grow older, we gradually loose the childlike excitement about what might lie just beyond the next bend in the road, just out of sight. We begin to think that we’ve seen it all, that there is nothing new.

When was I a young man in my twenties, I traveled around the country excited about every new road that I would turn onto and travel down. Nearly every highway or back road was new to me, and I was in great anticipation of what I might find along the way. As I grew older, I began to realize that most of my travels took me down roads that I have been down before, and much of the novelty of travel slowly wore away.

Even earlier in my life, during my college years, I can remember springing out of bed every morning excited to go to class and wondering what new and thrilling things I would learn that day. I knew that there would be things that I would know when I laid my head on the pillow that evening, that I did not know when I got out of bed that morning.

We lose a lot of this excitement about life when we begin to see our lot as mainly a routine—repetitive and mundane. Be we can recapture a bit of our youthful fervor, if only for a moment, from the children around us to whom everything is fresh and new, and to whom tomorrow is the next great adventure.

Responses

  1. It’s one of the most wonderful things about being young – the optimism, and the thrill that we associate with it, and the sense of wonder that comes with it. It’s a pity that people tend to hanker after things such as money and fame, when this sense of wonder is really the most precious thing they can have…well, kudos to you for such a fine post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

