Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | March 7, 2008

Lamberts Again!

Well, here it is exactly one week from my last post, and I find myself once again in Sikeston, Missouri for an overnight in a snowstorm. It wasn’t supposed to be this way. I was to have driven from New Orleans to Franklin, Kentucky today, via Birmingham, Alabama and Nashville, Tennessee. But the pending storm forced me to alter my intended course and head further west instead, back along the route that I took south a week ago.

My first 350 miles were uneventful. I covered it in about 5-1/2 hours. Then about 30 miles south of Memphis, Tennessee, I started to hit the weather. By the time I crossed the Mississippi at Memphis and began my trek through a little corner of Arkansas, I found myself in the middle of a full-blown winter storm.

There were cars and trucks (including 18-wheelers) in the ditches all over. There was one car completely upside down just over the Missouri line, and I called that one in to 911, which was my second 911 call of this trip (the first one was about a car in the median that I encountered an hour or so after leaving home last Friday). Just 30 miles or so north of Memphis, I sat at a total standstill for 20 minutes while the police and emergency vehicles were working a very bad accident that covered both sides of the highway. Once I finally passed the smack-up, I saw a large travel-trailer sitting by itself on the highway with the front 8 feet smash in. There was also a semi-truck in the medium. A couple of other cars had collided and there was metal all over the place. And several other cars were off the side of the road.

I clawed my way north, and finally arrived in Sikeston a little after 6:00 pm. My last 125 miles took about 3 hours, but I arrived safely. Upon stepping outside of Lambert’s Cafe, after my wonderful one-pound hamburger steak meal, I discovered winter weather that was about as bad as I’ve seen it this year—and we have had plenty of pretty bad winter storms in Michigan.

Well, tomorrow is another day. Hopefully, the worst is behind me and I will have an uneventful trip as I head home in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

