Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | October 12, 2008

Witty Thoughts

It was Shakespeare who observed that “brevity is the soul of wit.”  Indeed, in our fast-paced, soundbite, cut-to-the-chase oriented world, Shakespeare’s comment takes on even more meaning than perhaps it did in his own time.

I have written my share of longer than necessary blog posts over the past year.  I would like to think that these posts are read by others carefully, and in their entirety, and pondered with as much serious thought as was used to create them.  But I know that this is not the case.  Of the 5,700 hits on my blog over the past year, I dare say that most of these resulted in folks wandering in (many by mistake), reading a sentence or two, and then jumping onto the next blog.  Oft times, I am sure, the point of the post is entirely missed because there is simply too much writing for most people to wade through to get to the gist.

To be sure, a brief statement can often be much more powerful in making its point than a longer essay, even though the essay may be well reasoned and well presented.  With this concept in mind, I have decided to try my hand at shorter, more succinct blog posts that hopefully will drive home powerful concepts in a very limited number of words.  I will try this for at least a month.  This is the first of these briefer posts.  I hope you find it witty.

Responses

  1. Forget I even brought this up. I’m hopeless.


Leave a Reply

Categories

