Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | January 19, 2009

25 Random Things

I don’t participate in many chain-letter kinds of things, but one cropped up on Facebook the other day that looked kind of fun.   I thought I would re-post it here.  My 25 things are completely random; I wrote them as they popped into my head.  So the list does not represent the most important things in my life nor are they in any particular order of priority.  Here goes:

____________________________________________________________

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.

1. I saw John F. Kennedy at the Muskegon County Airport in 1960 when he was campaigning for the presidency. I was three at the time, and I do remember it.

2. I have seen two Presidents in person during the time that each was serving as president: Gerald Ford and George W. Bush. (I saw JFK before he became president.)

3. I remember being very upset when President Nixon resigned. I followed the Watergate hearings closely, and felt very strongly that he was railroaded. Contrary to what you read in the history books today, I still feel that way.

4. I once met former Speaker of the House Thomas “Tip” O’Neil in the Dayton, Ohio Airport. I shook his hand and got his autograph, which I have to this day.

5. I shook hands with Michigan Governor John Engler once–right after stepping out of the restroom with my hands still a bit wet.

6. The first president that I voted for was Gerald Ford in 1976. I have voted in every presidential election since.

7. I have never voted for a Democrat for president, and I don’t feel that I’ve missed out on anything because of this.

8. As of tomorrow, I would have lived during the administration of 11 Presidents, one-quarter of the total of those who have served.

9. While a graduate student and teaching assistant in the late 1970’s, I spent the better part of many days working in an electronic music studio that contained a room full of electronic and recording equipment, including one of the first Moog synthesizers (it covered a 10-foot wall of the studio). Everything that I did then with all of this expensive equipment, you can do now (and more) with a $350.00 personal computer.

10. I thought I saw Elvis in a Burger King in Kalamazoo in the late 70’s.

11. I have owned 12 cars since I first got my license in 1973. The first was a 1973 Ford Pinto (which I didn’t actually own until I graduated from high school in 1975).

12. The first car I bought was a 1976 Ford Maverick. It cost $2,300.00; I borrowed $1,800.00 and my payment was something around $40.00 a month.

13. I love history! Thus, the previous 12 posts.

14. I am a news junkie, who still at times must tune out the news channels for my own sanity. I have CNN set as my home page on all of my computers.

15. I enjoy travel, but will fly only when absolutely necessary. If the destination is within a day’s drive or even two, I’ll drive it every time. Seeing the country along the way is half the fun of the trip.

16. I love the concept of self-reliance. I would love to take a camping trip across country with only the minimum of strategic supplies necessary to make the trip.

17. I hope to take up kayaking this summer.

18. I like having contingency plans for all of the important things in life. You never know when something might go wrong and you are on your own to get through the situation.

19. I like to plan the broad outlines of the trips that I take, but leave the details to spontaneity.

20. I like taking my wife and grand kids to Mr. B’ Pancake House for breakfast a couple of times a month. And I like it even better when Kristi and Joe can join us.

21. I have been to New Orleans 6 times in the 17 years from 1991 to 2008.

22. I sang with a teachers’ choir at a choral festival in Llangollen, Wales and in the major European cities of London, Copenhagen, Amsterdam, Hamburg, and Bremen.

23. I hope to go to Australia one day and touch the Sydney Opera House. (A concert inside would be nice, too.)

24. I would love to set foot on Antarctica.

25. I hope to live long enough to see man go to Mars.

Responses

  1. Dude! You’re OLD!

    Heh! J/K! But you do have one year on me. Uh, BTW, so you’re the guy who reported seeing Elvis at the Burger King in Kazoo– I always wondered who that whacko was! 😉

    I voted for Jimmy Carter in 1976. Nya! Nya! 😛

    Fun post!

  2. I am old. This is something not fully realized until I began recounting things from may past and realized that I lived through the dark ages.

    In my Facebook profile, I have written the following:

    I am a run of the mill, happy-go-lucky, boring old guy. I really am old. I make dirt look pretty good. Carbon dating on me is inconclusive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

