Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | January 27, 2009

The Truth: It Hurts

“How are you?” you might ask.

“Well, I woke up this morning with a temperature is 100.8. My head feels like it is in a medieval turn screw, my throat is experiencing the sensation of being ripped out by Peruvian midgets, and my body feels like a 500-pound big-time wrestler is slamming it against the tarmac at O’Hare. Otherwise, I’m fine. You?”

The most common greeting in our culture is this:  “Hi, how are you?”  And the common reponse is: “I’m fine.  And you?”  To which the person opposite answers, “Great!”  And then the conversation continues.  But what if we answered the question honestly with the laundry list of complaints that most of us carry around every day.  Well, then the conversation would certainly take on a different character.  And we probably would never get around to the business at hand.

And we would probably have fewer friends.  Superficiality is safe.  And it gets us to where we want to be in our dealings with other people.  The truth, on the other hand, can be very painful—especially when we have to deal with someone else’s truth.

Responses

  1. I don’t know how I managed to miss this post. I’m pretty sure I stopped by here yesterday and didn’t see it. I must be losing it. [sigh]

    Anyway, At the risk of sounding superficial, let me just say that I hope you’re feeling better today. Although I’ve never encountered a Peruvian midget, I can imagine it’s not pleasant having one at your throat.

    Did I happen to mention I have a cold sore blossoming on my bottom lip? Yeah, i know– disgusting! I’m fifty years old and confronted by my first cold sore– EVER. A little gift from my mom, I suspect. She currently has two, probably brought on by her recent flu bug. She really needs to learn how to keep her germs to herself!

    …..

    You know, I think you’re right. I’m probably better off not informing the world that I have my mom’s virus manifesting itself on my face. LOL

    So, let’s start over.

    Hi, how are you today? 😉

  2. UPDATE: Good news! Upon closer inspection, I DO NOT have a cold sore. It appears to be an itty-bitty pimple. I’m not sure if I’m relieved or sulking because I’m apparently suffering from a relapse of adolescent acne, instead.

    Anyway, I take back all the curses I’ve been heaping on my poor unsuspecting mom.

    Bottom line: I’m going to be just fine. Now, aren’t you glad you asked? Heh!


Leave a Reply

Categories

