Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | February 20, 2009

The Pulse Of The Impulse

I just spent $245.00 yesterday on a Dell “netbook” computer, and I feel dirty. It was a completely self-centered, want-it, gotta-have-it, gonna-have-it purchase.

I was kicking myself and licking my wounds Tuesday morning for not jumping on a great, one-day deal on this unit that Dell was offering on Presidents Day. However, when I added the extras that I wanted, $199.00 quickly became $299.00 (plus sales tax and shipping), and I couldn’t bring myself to hit “submit.” You must understand that I am the original penny-pinching Hollander, and I represent Hollanders wherever they may be found in the world today (I guess it’s alright to stereotype if you are one of the stereotyped).

So Wednesday morning, what showed up in my inbox when I first turned the computer on? Believe it or not, as if it were a summons from on high, it was a $245.00 deal from Sam’s Club on this very same Dell netbook. I thought, “Maybe I should check this out; $245.00 isn’t bad, and it includes shipping.” When I started looking over Sam’s deal, I found that it included all of the features that I wanted that made the purchase too expensive for me a couple of days earlier. I quickly went over to Dell’s site and found that the same computer, with the same specifications, would cost me over $100.00 more if I bought it directly from Dell. Not wanting to inflict further injury by kicking myself even harder the next day, I quickly jumped on this deal.

So the moral of this story is: Go ahead and satisfy that impulse, and then leave a comment here; it will help assuage my conscience for my own impulse-purchase (if you can call 48-hours-of-agonizing-mulling-at-the-end-of-which-you-decide-to-buy an “impulse-purchase” ).

Responses

  1. You know, after writing this morning about the Kindle 2 I’ve been pining for, I find I’m no longer going crazy wanting it. Maybe there was something therapeutic about getting the whole sordid desire off my chest? Wasn’t it Spock (speaking to Kirk) who once said, “Ater a time, you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting. It is not logical, but it is often true.”

    Congrats on your awesome Dell deal!


Leave a Reply

Categories

