Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | February 27, 2009

Marriage Questions

Alright. I don’t normally post this kind of stuff here, but this fun little exercise is making the rounds on Facebook.  I worked my way through the questionnaire and posted it to my Facebook “notes.”  I thought I would post over here for my loyal blog readers (both of you).  But read it fast; I might reconsider this post and take it down (and bury it out back behind the shed).

Here goes:

1. When was your “engagement” anniversary?
Dec. 24, 1976 (not long after Lincoln was shot).

2. When is your “marriage” anniversary?
August 13, 1977 (Elvis would live for three more days).

3. How long have you known your spouse?
Since March 26, 1974 (actually before then, but that date is the beginning of the courtship); 35 years.

4. How long did you date/court before you were engaged?
1238 days or 3 years, 4 months, 20 days.

Alternative time units:
* 106,963,200 seconds
* 1,782,720 minutes
* 29,712 hours
* 176 weeks (rounded down)

5. Where did you meet your spouse for the first time?
Church and school (go figure).

6. What is your spouse’s full name?
Sugar (when I’m in a good mood)

7. Do you have any children?
I think so???

8. How many?
Two, but they aren’t so little anymore.

9. Do you have any house pets?
Not now, but we had a couple of dogs (until they started eating homework).

10. Do you own a house or rent?
The bank and I share ownership; we have an understanding about that.

11. Do you live in the country or town/city?
Kind of in between the two (I know I sound like I can’t commit).

12. What is one of your favorite activities together?
Chatting with each other online while we sit in the living room watching TV.

13. Do you have a favorite vacation spot?
She likes Florida; I like woods–so we go to Florida.

14. How many siblings (including in-laws) do you have?
Including inlaws? It’s too late for counting tonight. Let’s just say one brother and one sister.

15. What church do you attend?
FBBC otherwise known as BBC otherwise known as BBC of F.

16. Is this the church you were married in?
Yes. It was almost brand new then (built during the depression, I think).

18. Do you work or stay at home?
Both, but I stay at home mostly at night.

19. Where did you go on your honeymoon?
Mackinac Island (we went for the fudge).

20.Who drives when you go out together?
Me. Always!

21.How long have you been together?
Almost 32 years (that sounds like a long time, doesn’t it).

22. How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Probably four or five years. Nixon was President during the time. Bill Gates was just a flunky kid.

23. Who asked who out?
I asked her out. Took a couple of tries, as I remember it.

24. How old were each of you?
17 (that sounds so young, doesn’t it).

25.Whose siblings do/did you see the most?
Huh? Depends on whether you are talking me, or her.

26. Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Sharing a TV remote.

27. Did you go to the same school?
Yeah. At the same time, too.

28. Are you from the same home town?
I would say no, but she would probably say yes. Is Cloverville a town?

29. Who is smarter?
She is. Absolutely (he says as he tallies a few more brownie points).

30. Who is more sensitive?
She wins that one, hands down. I stop by the store and pick up a box of tissues before we head to the movies.

31.Where do you eat out most as a couple?
You name it, we eat there.

32. Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Venezuela (before that nut-job Chavez came into power).

33.Who has the craziest exes?
What’s an exe? Is it like an axe, only said and spelled differently?

35. Who does the cooking?
What’s cooking? (Opps; subtract a few brownie points).

36. Who is more social?
She is. I can’t stand being around people. Just kidding!!! You know I’m just kidding!!!

37. Who is the neat-freak?
That would be me.

38. Who is the more stubborn?
That would also be me.

39. Who hogs the bed?
We share the bed. I just hog the covers.

40. Who wakes up earlier?
She does. But I “get” up earlier.

41. Where was your first date?
A Ballet with canned music in Holland. We went to Russ’ afterward. I think that was during the Harding administration.

42.Who has the bigger family?
That is hard to figure. Depends on whether you figure in both inlaws and outlaws.

43. Do you get flowers often?
No. I don’t much like getting flowers. But I buy her flowers once in a while. Does that count?

44. How do you spend the holidays?
With family, unless we decide to skip town.

45. Who gets more jealous?
I suppose that would be me, though I don’t remember the last time I was jealous. She doesn’t have a jealous bone in her body.

46. How long did it take to get serious?
About two minutes for me. She took about two years.

47. Who eats more?
Are we talking then, or now?

48. Who does the laundry?
She does, mainly. But I keep the washer working.

49. Who’s better with the computer?
Probably me. But she works a mean I-Touch!

50. Piece of advice?
When in doubt, order something you’ve had before.

Responses

  1. OMG, I laughed all the way through this! You actually have a sense of humor. Whodathunkit?! Seriously, this was funny. I especially like your answers to numbers 9, 10, 13, 47, and 50, but my all-time favorite answer is to…[drum roll]…. NUMBER 12!. I can totally relate!

    You made my morning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

