Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | April 9, 2009

Spring Break Rules!

Years ago, when my children were in grade school, the first full week of April was something to celebrate. It was akin to a week-long national holiday. It was, after all, spring break.

Many times during those years, we would set out for Florida, undertaking wearisome two- or three-day journey along busy highways and through congested cities. Travel could be tough when competing for pavement with half the inhabitants of the east coast of the United States, all of whom were on the same mission as us to see the big mouse and to spend a few days in the warm sun around a crystal clear swimming pool or on a sandy ocean beach. Those were the days.

When I think back to my own childhood, I remember spring break was always a time to anticipate. Often the planning for that special week began months in advance. Some years we went to Florida, and other years we just stayed home and did things nearby. Even when we stayed home, however, spring break was always a welcome relief from the routine of many months of school and almost as many months of unrelenting winter.

When I entered college in the mid-1970s, spring break shifted from the first of April to the first of March. Then it shifted back to April as my children entered school, and back again to March when they entered college. Now that I have grand kids, spring break is once again the first week of April. Last year at this time, we rented a van and jammed five adults and two children into it and took our leave to the sunshine state. It was a great time—a reminder of years past and, hopefully, a portent of many wonderful trips to come.

This year, however, spring break is blowing past me like the unseen breeze that is only felt across the skin if one really pauses to think about it. My grand kids and their mom are off on their own great family adventure—more power to them. My other daughter, a school teacher, is on her own well-deserved spring break. But if it were not for the phone calls and conversations with the kids and grand kids this week, I would have been completely unaware of the breeze of spring break this year. I’m not really sure what this means: maybe it means that I’m getting older and don’t care as much about such things; maybe it means that I’m so busy in my work routine that I don’t have time to dwell on such things; or maybe it means that I had better get started doing some planning to be a full participant in next year’s spring break.

I suppose that when it comes right down to it, I really do hate missing out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

