Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | April 10, 2009

Where Have All The Comics Gone?

I was in a lazy-dazy mood last night, and I was feeling guilty about it.  I knew that I needed to get my daily exercise in, and I needed to review finances, and I needed to do a dozen other things.  But I only wanted to lay back in my easy chair and become a tomato or cucumber or vegetate as some other—any other—type of fresh produce.

So I indulged myself, which is not something I often do.  There was a new comedy show premiering last night called “Parks and Recreation,” starring Amy Poehler.  I am not particularly a fan of Poehler; but since I wasn’t moving out of my chair anytime soon, I thought her new show might be worth a look-see.  It wasn’t.  For someone who is supposed to be so funny, her show was a sore disappointment.  Or maybe it’s just me.

In any case, I got through “Parks and Recreation” and then decided to stay-tuned and watch an episode of “The Office.”  I had heard that this show was a hoot.  It was a little better than the Poehler show, but that’s not saying a whole lot since the bar had been set so low by then.  There are a few moderately funny things in “The Office,” but it is mediocre comedy at best and all-in-all rather lackluster.  It, too, is not worth the time to watch.

I then gave up on TV for the evening and turned to the internet for the comedy fix that I had so earnestly sought all evening.  I stumbled across old Johnny Carson clips on “You Tube.”  It was just the antidote to the mindless entertainment that had been offered up as comedy so far that evening.  The Carson stuff was rip-roaring hilarious.  Particularly funny where two classic sketches: one with Carson as Ronald Reagan from 1982; the other one a timeless treasure from 1968 with Carson and Jack Webb.

As I rolled on the floor with laughter at these Carson clips, I began to wonder about whatever happened to the old side-splitting humor of my youth.  Are all the top-rung comedians now gone?  Why do today’s comedians fall so short compared with the greats from the past?  Or am I I’m just getting old?  Am I now “out of it?”

Try some of these names: Jackie Gleason, Lucy Ball, Red Skelton, Milton Berle, Jack Benny, the old song-man Jimmy Durante (I loved that guy), Bob Hope, Bob Newhart, Groucho Marx, George Burns, Heney Youngman (“take my wife . . . please!”).  They don’t grow comedians like these anymore.

Responses

  1. You will never see the above comedians that you mentioned replaced. THEY WERE THE BEST!!! I used to laugh my head off at them.

    And what about good ole George Gobel. Bob Hope, Johnny Carson, Jack Bennie and many more.
    Watch this one with some of the greats: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_6yWi6YBYY


Leave a Reply

Categories

