Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | June 14, 2009

Off We Go, Into The Wild Blue Yonder!

I find myself this evening on the cusp of what should prove to be the most magnificent of vacations.  Destination: Alaska!

The rub, however, is in the getting there.  You see, I have not flown by commercial airliner in about  seven years now.  I used to fly quite regularly for business.  That was pre-9/11.  I think I have flown one time since 9/11, and that was just a few months into 2002 before all of the new travel regulations complicated air travel and all of the airlines breathed new meaning into the phrase “non-existent service.”

Needless to say, I have a lot of anxiety and trepidation about what we will encounter tomorrow trying to get onto our flight.  I have spent the better part of the evening going over all of the TSA regulations to make sure that we are in compliance and to minimize the possibility of surprises.  My aunt wrote me an email this evening to wish us God-speed, and I replied that I would much rather travel with “a comfortable car and and tank full of gas anytime, thank you very much.”

Time was when, as a young whippersnapper, I would go with my mom to the airport to pick up my dad at the completion of a business trip.  As they rolled the staircase up to the airplane door, I would run out on the tarmac and meet my dad at the bottom of the steps.  Those days are long gone, for sure.

Anyway, I am trying to put myself in a frame of mind where I’m not complaining about this, that, and the other thing.  I can’t wait to get off the plane and “really” start the vacation.  Now, time to start thinking positive thoughts.  It’s going to really be a hoot!

Responses

  1. I flew from Flint to Detroit to Boston and back again in June, 2008. I found the process wasn’t as bad as I’d anticipated and hope you’re pleasantly surprised as well.

    Bon Voyage!

  2. Mike you are going to have a wonderful time and Air travel is a great way to get to the place where you will see so many wonderful things.
    As usual you all are in my prayers
    When you come back i am looking forward to here of your trip.


Leave a Reply

Categories

