Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | July 18, 2009

Fiddling With The Founders

I’ve been going through my copy of the constitution with a fine-tooth comb, and I can’t seem to find the section where all US citizens are entitled to health care at government expense.  Maybe someone can give me the reference.

It seems to me that the country was founded on folks paying for things they want from their own pocket, rather than poking around in someone else’s pocket for the money to buy the stuff they want.  But the times, they are a changin’.

I want a big-screen TV; I wonder if I can get someone to buy me one.  It could be that I have a constitutional right to a big-screen TV at no cost to me, though I’ve looked for this in the constitution and have so far come up empty.  Does anyone know if there is a government voucher that I can apply for and have the US taxpayer pick up the tab?  I would be grateful—or maybe not.

I’ll keep looking through the constitution in search of the guarantee of a big screen TV to all Americans, courtesy of Uncle Sam.  It’s got to be in there somewhere . . . I’ll just keep looking . . . .

(Maybe when Sonia Sotomayor gets on the Supreme Court she can help me look.  That would be really nice.)

Responses

  1. …[crickets]…

    I had something to say, but this is YOUR blog, and I’ll respect that. Oh, boy, but for a minute there you reminded me so much of Kelly, I almost burst a gasket.

    Time for work. I have insurance to pay for, after all.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  2. I have always found it intriguing that things that seem like common sense to me are alien concepts to some other folks. I guess it just shows that we are all wired in our own unique way. Oh well. At least we can all relate to hot dogs, apple pie, baseball, and the flag.

  3. I discovered your blog today, and I’ve enjoyed reading your thoughts. We seem to have quite a bit in common! I’ve search in vain to find and “About Me” link…do you introduce yourself in a formal way anywhere on your blog?


Leave a Reply

Categories

