Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | October 11, 2009

Prize?

When I heard the other day that Barack Obama had won this year’s Nobel Peace Prize, my first thought was this: “What exactly has he done to merit this prize?”  Now, I not saying that he doesn’t deserve it;  but, seriously, I would be interested in knowing what he has “done”—what he has “accomplished”—that would warrant him gaining this prize.

As the day wore on, this became something of a theme in the media and elsewhere.  Even Obama himself seemed to signal that he had reservations about his choice as this year’s recipient.  The president had this to say about the matter:

“Let me be clear, I do not view it as a recognition of my own accomplishments, but rather as an affirmation of American leadership on behalf of aspirations held by people in all nations. To be honest, I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many of the transformative figures who’ve been honored by this prize, men and women who’ve inspired me and inspired the entire world through their courageous pursuit of peace.”

So Obama, by his own words, doesn’t believe that he deserves this award.  But the larger point is this: Even Obama understands that this award has nothing at all to do with his accomplishments, but rather with what he “hopes” he will be able to accomplish.  It is also about what leftist European elitists “hope” that they can push him towards.  In any case, I’m really glad he cleared this all up; I was beginning to think that maybe I missed something.

Leave a Reply

Categories

