Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | October 20, 2009

The Incident In The North Country

We stopped over the weekend at the Leelanau Coffee Roasting Company in Glen Arbor, Michigan, as we are often wont to do during a northern Michigan trip that my wife and I take each fall.  I had the cappuccino; she had a chai.  An animated discussion was going on among the patrons around the tables—I imagine it is often that way in this quaint coffee shop, and it was fun to sip our drinks and listen in.

car hoodWe love this stop!  We always do.  It is about the last thing we do before we point the nose of the car south and head toward home.  This year, though, we got a bit of a scare when trying to start the car to leave.  We couldn’t get it started.  The engine turned over just fine, but it wouldn’t “catch.”  It took me a few seconds to even realize that there was a problem going on here because I just expect this car to take off running at the first quick twist of the key.

This was a first-time, very unexpected problem with this car, a car that has so far proved to be the most reliable vehicle I’ve ever owned.  A bit puzzled, I tried the ignition a second time with the same perplexing result.  At that point, I got out of the car, put the hood up, and looked around inside the engine compartment—I didn’t really think that I would see anything out of the ordinary, but a man must always “look like” he knows what he is doing in situations like this.

After a minute or so, I got back in and tried it again.  This time the car started up right away, just like it normally does.  Finally!  The engine ran fine from there on out, and we had no problem at all the rest of the day, even though we stopped and started the engine a dozen or more times before we got home.

Now that I look back on this incident, I think the car probably just wanted to linger a while longer over the great coffee!

Leave a Reply

Categories

