Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | August 2, 2010

The Imagination

Music is made of the same stuff as dreams.  Both can usher us off to other worlds—far from our mundane, noise-polluted, sight-saturated waking-lives.  Both are powered by pure and potent imagination.

If dreams and music could collide, I envision that sight and sound would be magically combined as I dream of glissandi and chromatic scales, of jazz idioms and ornaments and pentatonic punctuations, of quiet instrumental recitative resounding with resplendent rubato, of tremolos and tantalizing trills, of triads broken apart and stacked up like cord wood . . . of vivace performed like Liberace!

Responses

  1. Hmm… I think if my dreams and music could collide, it would come out sounding a lot like gangsta rap. :/

  2. Very nice job! When I wrote my facebook thing about dreaming the music, I was reflecting on the little boy in “A Christmas Story” when he got his revolver and dreamed of ……” pringing ducks on the wing and getting off spectacular hip shots.” I like the optical illusion you put with your post.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

