Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | October 17, 2011

In The Grand Tradition

All families have their traditions.  Whether it is Christmas at grandmother’s, 4th of July picnic reunion, or a major league baseball game with the brothers every summer, we all have our family traditions.  These traditions help to keep families close and work to bring them even closer together.  For many families, these traditional gatherings are the only times many family members see one another.  These gatherings are cherished, and they become the highest priority for many people.

Our family has lots of traditions: Christmas morning with the kids and grand-kids; Easter dinner at mom’s; Labor day fish-fry at the in-law’s; and, of course, family get-togethers for every single birthday, which happens a couple of times a month.

And I like starting new traditions.  I like the concept of  “reinventing” things as I get older.  My extended family has started some new traditions in the last few years.  For one, we had a wonderful night-before-Labor Day campfire in the back yard for the first time this year.  It was a great time together, and something that I hope will become a new tradition.  I look forward to many more “first time” family traditions in the years to come.

I also enjoy starting new “personal traditions,” if they can be called that.  There are a number of things that I’ve done “for the first time” lately; I hope they become personal traditions.  Only a year ago, for example, I began kayaking.  I have always loved the water, and I’ve always loved boating.  What a great way, I thought, to get on the water and also get in the exercise that I want and need.  So kayaking it is.  And I love it!

It gets harder every year to reinvent myself, especially now that I’m in my mid 50s.  But so far I’ve managed to do so, and that has kept life interesting.  I hope I am still reinventing when I’m 80 and beyond!  There is no reason why life can’t remain interesting until the very end.

Responses

  1. Happy to do these and new traditions with you !!


Leave a Reply

Categories

