Posted by: Calmseas (Mike) | December 1, 2011

Another Cup

I write a lot about coffee: maybe because it is one of life’s little pleasures, shared by nearly everyone.  So . . . here we go again.

It was the summer of 1987.  My family and I were staying at Sugarbush Resort in the Green Mountains of Vermont.  We stumbled into the sleepy little town of Waitsfield one day and happened across a little coffee shop known as Green Mountain Coffee Roasters.  I had never seen a coffee shop like this before. Actually, I had never seen any sort of coffee shop before.  The concept was very new then.  Up until that time, coffee was something you bought in a can—at the grocery store.

I was amazed at the sight of this place.  As we walked in the door, there were row upon row of little glass canisters filled with all sorts of varieties of coffee beans.  The penetrating aroma of newly roasted beans and fresh-brewed coffee was nearly overwhelming.  As I began to look at the canisters, I quickly discovered that the little coffee shop had this curiosity called “flavored coffee.”  I had never heard of such a thing.  We bought a bag of “Irish cream coffee” and then went back to the resort and brewed a carafe-full of the stuff.  It was like a little taste of heaven.  It changed my idea of coffee forever.  The rest is history, or at least a chronicle of the life and times of me and my coffee.

Fast forward 25 years, and now I’ve rediscovered Green Mountain Coffee with my new Keurig coffee machine.  There are several wonderful coffees that Green Mountain makes for the Keurig machine.  (Green Mountain Coffee Roasters has expanded far beyond the little coffee shop in Waitsfield, and they actually own the very profitable Keurig enterprise.)  My favorite all-time coffee is now Green Mountain’s “double black diamond” coffee.  I’ve never tasted anything like this.  What a phenomenally rich, dark, and captivatingly flavorful coffee this is!  My first cup of this stuff was like stepping back in time to that little shop in Waitsfield and being amazed all over again!

Leave a Reply

Categories

